Gočár's Gallery – House U Jonáše

Instituce
Pardubice
State, regional and municipal institutions
Address
U Mlýnů 1961, 530 00 Pardubice
Opening hours

Tue–Sun 10am–6pm

Wed 12–8pm

Admission

House U Jonáše:

full: 40 CZK, discounted: 20 CZK
family: 80 CZK / 2 adults + 2 children


chateau no. 3
Full: 60 CZK, discounted: 30 CZK
Family: 120 CZK / 2 adults + 2 children


Shared admission to both buildings:
Full: 80 CZK / discounted: 40 CZK
Family: 160 CZK / 2 adults + 2 children

Another building of the Gočár Gallery is House U Jonáše (50 Pernštýnské nám.). The opening hours are the same, and the ticket is valid for both buildings when visited on the same day.

The current Gočár's Gallery, until 31 December 2022 the East Bohemian Gallery in Pardubice, was established by a decision of the Pardubice City Council as the Regional Gallery in 1953, at a time when the network of state galleries was being established in this country. At that time, the Municipal Picture Gallery in Pardubice was still in living memory, operating in the local chateau for a short time during the Second World War. The local intelligentsia had been striving to establish it since 1908, but it was only opened to the public in November 1942 in two rooms on the first floor of the chateau, rented to the town authorities by the local Museum Association. The further fate of the picture gallery is still well known in Pardubice. After 18 months of operation, the more valuable part of the collection was hidden from German air raids in the town hall in Holice, which burned down during the May 1945 uprising.

 

In the second half of 1954, the first two (and for a long time the only) employees joined the new Regional Gallery and the gallery began its professional activities. From the beginning it was housed in the premises in the economic part of Pardubice Castle, which in the first years it shared with the Regional Museum. The first exhibitions were created here, and a significant part of the exhibition activities also took place at the branches in Chrudim, Vysoké Mýto and Litomyšl, which were independent during the reorganisation in 1960. The end of the 1950s marked very significant and somewhat uncoordinated changes for the gallery. In three consecutive years the institution changed its status three times. In 1959, it was merged with the Regional Museum and Heritage Institute into one colossal institution - the Regional Institute of Local History. The functionality of an organization with such a broad focus was understandably not successful and from the following year the gallery functioned only in conjunction with the museum as the Museum and Gallery in Pardubice.

 

After the reorganisation of the territorial administration in 1961, the gallery was independent, this time under the name of the East Bohemian Gallery in Pardubice (VČG). Its regional scope was set for the entire southern part of the East Bohemian Region, in 1963 it was administratively limited to the districts of Pardubice and Chrudim. In the same year, the gallery came under the administration of the Pardubice Regional Council. The 1960s marked a significant development for the gallery in terms of its collection, reconstruction of the exhibition space in the chateau and professional activities. In 1962, the first permanent exhibition of 20th century Czech art was opened, with an emphasis on the art of East Bohemia. In 1968-69, two editions of the unique Artchemo sculpture symposium took place, which focused on exploring the possibilities of using artificial materials in visual art and was organised by the VČG in cooperation with the then VCHZ Synthesia. At the end of the decade, the VČG participated in the preparation of several editions of the Hlinecko Art Festival and from 1971 until 1990 it organized the annual Nasavrky Palette show in nearby Nasavrky.

 

The following years of the 1970s were not a happy period for the gallery, however. All the activities of the then director were driven by the desire to build a museum of socialist realism. In 1972, however, the gallery managed to acquire exhibition space in the U Jonáše House on Pernštýnské náměstí, where the Jaroslav Grus Gallery was opened in 1978. In the 1980s, the gallery's activities focused mainly on the addition and presentation of a collection of classical Czech landscape art, while at the end of the decade, along with the noticeable political relaxation, interesting additions of contemporary painting, drawing and graphic art appeared, as well as groundbreaking exhibitions by Eva Kmentová, Karel Malich and reprisals of the exceptional exhibitions Line, Colour, Shape and Contemporary Czech Graphic Art.

 

In the post-1989 period, exhibition activity focused on the presentation of essentially unknown personalities and artistic groups of our post-war visual art, discriminated against by the former regime. The aim was to convey to the public a true picture of modern art of the previous decades, not distorted by politically tinged selections or recommendations. Over the years, such exhibitions have become a certain part of the VČG's image. In the same spirit, the gallery has sought to update its permanent exhibition, and a number of successful purchases for the collections have been made with this aim in mind. Works by key artists from the 1960s to the 1980s were purchased, thus introducing an exhibition of art from the second half of the 20th century. As of 1 January 1991, the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic became the founder of the VČG. In the middle of the same year, the gallery lost its conveniently located house U Jonáše in restitution proceedings and therefore concentrated its exhibition activities in the castle building and its surroundings. In 1993, the gallery organised the first edition of the successful sculpture exhibition Pardubice Mounds, and further editions were held in 1994, 1995 and 1997. The gallery also participated in the reprisals of important exhibitions of the 1960s - New Sensibility, Route, New Figuration - and organised an exhibition commemorating the history and works from the Artchemo sculpture symposium in 1968 and 1969. On 1 December 2000, the VČG regained the reconstructed house U Jonáše, expanded by the premises in the rear wing, where it almost immediately started its exhibition activities.

 

Each of the past six decades of the East Bohemian Gallery's history has brought to its life a specific ideological focus, a specific focus of acquisition activity and a characteristic leading personality. In terms of exhibition and acquisition activities and the overall development of the gallery, the late 1950s, the 1960s, the 1990s and the present period can be seen as a fruitful period. A major change in acquisition activity occurred in 2017. The gallery staff prepared the document "Strategy of acquisition activities of the East Bohemian Gallery in Pardubice, a contributory organisation of the Pardubice Region", which was approved by the Council of the Pardubice Region on 15 May 2017. At the same time, the VČG has been successful in obtaining additional funds in subsidy procedures announced by the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic. The acquisition activities of the VČG are systematically focused on filling the noticeable gaps in some generational units in the collection and on supplementing the representation of exceptional individuals. The selection of works is carried out in view of the preparation of exhibitions for the new spaces in the Winternitz Automatic Mills.

 

In 2017, the Council of the Pardubice Region approved the General Plan for the long-term presentation of the Pardubice Castle, which determines the future development of the unique complex in order to increase its attractiveness, promote tourism and strengthen the significance of the Renaissance Pernštejn residence. It was decided to use the former farm buildings for the needs of the East Bohemian Museum and to relocate the headquarters of the VČG to the building of the former automatic mills designed by architect Josef Gočár. For the purposes of a modern gallery, the former industrial building is extremely attractive. Exhibition halls for changing exhibitions and expositions, modern depositories and also high-quality facilities for working with collections will be created here. At the same time, some of the authentic elements of the original mill will be preserved, such as transmisses, hoppers, etc. Visitors will also have a unique view of the town and its surroundings from the roof terrace. This major conceptual decision offers the gallery a unique chance and opportunity to become a modern, sought-after cultural institution of the 21st century.

Gočár's Gallery – House U Jonáše

Current events